Hyped: Tarte Shape Tape Concealer

Keep Your Face In Shape

Tarte Shape Tape Concealer: A Pros and Cons Review

It’s Saturday so you know what that means… You made it through the week! You’re probably exhausted, maybe hungover; but don’t worry, concealer’s here to keep your face in shape.

You’ve probably heard of the Tarte Shape Tape Contour Concealer (24USD, £19, 31CAD) by now. It was so hyped up that it was sold out everywhere for quite a while. Some colours are still sold out on the Tarte website and there’s a limit of two per customer. So if you don’t already own the concealer, you’re probably wondering: is it worth the hype?

Well, I don’t have a definite answer to that -there are definitely pros and cons to this concealer. But if you want to know my honest thoughts on this product, keep reading!

(just for reference: I have combination skin with an oily t-zone and dry patches)

tarteshapetape2

Left: the concealer tube (duh), Right: swatches (in the colour light neutral)

Let’s start with the positives:

  1. Very high coverage, somewhere between a satin and matte finish.
  2. Easy to blend on top of foundation.
  3. Foundation sits well on top of this concealer.
  4. Lots of product -you get 10mL/0.3381 fl oz (for reference, a normal-sized tube of concealer has around 5 or 6mL/0.16 fl oz or 0.22 fl oz)
  5. I love this concealer on my face to highlight my forehead, cheeks, and chin; and to hide my blemishes on my face. It blends away so seamlessly and makes my skin look completely flawless.
  6. Doesn’t crease easily, sets by itself (but I still need to use powder).
  7. Long-lasting. As this concealer sets down to a satiny matte finish, it will last through a workout or a good cry (but maybe not the pool).
  8. Looks great in photos -makes your skin look even and flawless.
  9. Bonus: the packaging is so cute and the concealer itself smells amazing!

Now for the cons:

  1. Not for a natural look -I find that I can’t wear this alone without foundation because of the contrast of how this looks on the skin and my natural skin. (On an everyday basis, I reach for my Maybelline Fit Me Concealer over this one for a natural look)
  2. It can sink into fine lines under the eyes if you don’t blend it out right away (I use the beautyblender to buy me some more time).
  3. It can look slightly “chalky” and drying under the eyes, especially if I use a powder over top.
  4. Has a very thick creamy consistency and the dough foot applicator picks up a lot of product, so it is easy to go overboard and apply to much.
  5. Only for those who go for a natural look: Blends well, but doesn’t disperse well (if that makes sense). It’s better to spread a thin layer of concealer and press it into your skin to blend then it is to dot on a thick glob and try to spread it. (However, I’ve added a drop of facial oil to it and it spreads a lot more easily and evenly).

Overall there are more pros than cons, but ultimately, I think that it all comes down to personal preference. If you’re like me and you go for a natural, foundation-free look on a daily basis, you may not reach for this often. However, if you enjoy a flawless, full coverage finish on your skin, you will love this concealer.

Personally, I would not use this concealer as my everyday concealer. I would use this concealer if I’m going to get my photo taken, if I’m having a bad skin day and want flawless looking skin, if I’m going to a special event, or if I’m wearing a heavier eye look and need to balance it out with an even base on my face.

Hope you enjoyed my honest review on the Tarte Shape Tape Concealer! Stay tuned for my next post tomorrow and a more in-depth review and swatches of another hyped product (hint: it smells as good as it looks) next Thursday!

image-1xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

