Treat yo self: A Guide to the Perfect Lazy Day

A Cozy Sunday In

As a university student, my day-to-day life is usually quite hectic, even on the weekends. So, when I get a day off, I like to treat myself to a cozy day in. While I do enjoy going out for a few drinks with friends, sometimes, I just like to spend some time by myself to de-stress and relax. Basically, I live as a hermit for a day. Here’s my guide to making the most out of an uneventful day.

1. Sleep in… but not too much

This may seem obvious (and you probably do this anyways), but sleeping in is the best way to start a lazy day. However, while sleeping until the early hours of the afternoon may feel great at the time, you will pay the price the next day (and possibly the next week) when it feels even more impossible to get up at your usual time. So, what I like to do is try and only sleep in an hour or two more than I usually would. That being said, I’ve always struggled with my sleep schedule, so it’s a lot easier said then done. On most days, I sleep at around 2am (it’s bad, I know) and wake up at 8am (maybe 8:30) for school. While I try to wake up between 9-10am on a lazy day, 90% of the time I end up waking up closer to 11 or 12. But I’m working on it, I swear. And you should too.

2. A delicious brunch, minus the effort & time

Don’t get me wrong, I love pancakes and waffles as much as the next girl. On a lazy day however, I don’t like to spend the time and effort to cook a big, hearty brunch. Since I like to maintain a relatively healthy diet (for the most part), my brunch of choice centers around the perfect yogurt parfait (get it? perfect, parfait). First, I scoop in some low fat plain greek yogurt. Then, I dress it up with whatever toppings I want. Usually this includes a sliced up banana, some berries, and some granola to top it all off. If I’m having an especially sweet tooth that day, I’ll mix in some honey into my yogurt to give it some more flavour. You can also add whipped cream, some brown sugar, or experiment with different fruits.

lazyday1

Low fat Greek yogurt with bananas, raspberries, and granola

With my yogurt parfait, I’ll usually have a coffee or a smoothie, and a few slices of toast with butter and jam to really fill me up.

p.s. I know that yogurt parfaits are traditionally layered, but who has the time on a lazy day? Do as you please to modify your parfait and scoop in another layer of yogurt and toppings if you so desire.

3. Pamper yo self

Moisturise, stay hydrated, do your nails, put on a face mask. While I would love to throw “take a long bath” into the mix, I live in a dorm and unfortunately don’t have the luxury to do that. But if you do, go ahead and include that into your routine! Here are some of the products that I reach for on a lazy day.

lazyday2.jpg

Now most of these products speak for themselves; the hand cream, the lip balm, the face mask, the moisturiser, and the water bottle. But let me explain the other ones. I always like to have a clean face before I put on a mask, so I use these face wipes from Costco to quickly cleanse my skin. Out of all the face wipe type products I’ve used, these ones are by far my favourite. They don’t irritate my eyes, they remove all of my makeup, and they don’t have an overpowering smell. Next, the dry shampoo. If I don’t feel like washing my hair, dry shampoo is my best friend. I hate the feeling of oily, greasy hair, so I use dry shampoo to freshen it up a bit. The Batiste dry shampoo in the natural and light: bare scent has never failed me and is by far my favourite scent. Don’t worry if you have dark hair, I have dark roots and I have no issues whatsoever with white casts. The Petroleum Jelly and socks are next. If you have cracked heels or just any dry skin on your feet in general, this duo will change your life. I like to slather on a thick layer of Vaseline on my feet, pull on my cozy long socks, and read a book, listen to music, or watch TV. This really helps with the dry, cracked skin on your heels and you’ll see instant results when you take the socks off. Last but certainly not least, Bio-oil. I’ve mentioned in my last post that I have acne-prone skin. I’ve struggled with acne since my early teens and I use prescription Benzoyl Peroxide Gel to target any breakouts I may have, which dries out my skin. Although my skin is mostly clear these days, I do have a lot of acne scarring, especially on my temples. Bio-oil has significantly faded these scars and helped with my dry patches so I now incorporate it into my pamper (and daily) routine. I just mix it into my moisturiser or use it to target specific areas on my face where I have scarring or dry patches.

4. The outfit

You may be wondering why this is even on the list. I mean, can’t you just lounge around in your pjs all day or throw on the baggiest clothes you own? If you live in a dorm like me, where there’s a shared kitchen and you can’t avoid all human interaction, you’d still want to look a little cute and less of a mess. Hence, the perfect cozy day outfit.

lazyday3.jpg

I’m wearing my favourite jogger-style sweatpants from Nike (similar here) and the softest sweater I own, which I got at Nordstrom Rack from the brand Harlowe and Graham. I absolutely love how monochromatic this outfit is and how incredibly comfortable it is. Better than pjs and baggy clothes am I right?

5. A cheeky little cheat meal

I’ve always had the biggest sweet tooth. Even though I try to eat healthy meals, I just can’t seem to cut out (or cut down for that matter) all the sugar that I consume. I believe that even on lazy days, you should try to eat healthy whole meals instead of microwaved meals or delivery pizza. However, I do think that you should treat yourself to one cheat meal, whether it be burger and fries or a slice of cake. I satisfied my sweet tooth with a bowl (or mug in this case) of Ben and Jerry’s Sofa so Good ice cream -my absolute favourite at the moment.

lazyday4.jpg

After all, what better way to de-stress than with a bit of ice cream?

So there you go, my idea of a perfect cozy day in. How will you be spending your next cozy day in?

image-1xoxo

Leave a Reply

