Healthy Breakfast Idea: Overnight Oats

Breakfast for the Person Who Doesn’t Have Time for Breakfast

Do you ever hit the snooze button one (or ten) too many times in the morning? Do you rush to get ready every morning and find yourself skipping breakfast or just grabbing a granola bar on your way out? I know I do. That’s why I’m sharing with you this perfect easy breakfast idea for when you want a healthy, nutritious breakfast that you can eat in a pinch.

Overnight oats may not be the most revolutionary idea ever. In fact, you’ve probably already heard of it. But, I feel like overnight oats are one of those things that people never end up actually making and I wanted to highlight how amazing they are. Seriously, overnight oats has changed my breakfast game. It’s delicious, filling, and I can eat it while getting ready or bring it with me on the go.

Like the name suggests, you “cook” the oats overnight. All you have to do is soak some oats in milk and leave it in the fridge overnight. You can also add some honey or maple syrup in the oatmeal to give it some sweetness. I would suggest using some sort of glass container like a mason jar or a Pyrex container, but any sealed container will do. After soaking the oats overnight, you’ll see that the oats will have soaked up most of the milk and will have the texture of oatmeal.

overnightoats1

6/7 hours later; I used jumbo rolled oats and coconut milk

Usually, I like to have my oats ready for me to eat in the morning, so I top my oats off with some berries or a banana the night before. However, on this particular day, the only fruits that I had on hand were apples and I don’t like to leave them to brown overnight, so I chopped up an apple and added it to the oatmeal the morning of. If you know you’re going to have an early start, you probably want to add your fruits the night before.

overnightoats2

To add a bit of a crunch and some more sweetness to your oats, I like to add some granola to top it all of. Of course, if I’m in a big rush, I’ll skip the granola and just eat it as is. For a healthier option, a handful of nuts would be just as good!

overnightoats4

And that’s it! A delicious and nutritious quick breakfast that requires no (or almost no) preparation whatsoever in the morning. Hopefully this quick post was informative and helped you in some way or another. Thanks for reading!

image-1xoxo

Leave a Reply

