Top 3 Waterproof Mascaras & Best Ways to Remove Them

Through Blood, Sweat, and Tears… Or Just a Day at the Beach: 3 Tried and True Waterproof Mascaras

Spring break is coming. For those of you lucky enough to be traveling to a tropical destination this coming break, this post is for you. You may also be interested if you’ve got a special event coming up, if you have trouble finding a mascara that won’t run during a sweaty workout session, or if you’ve simply got stubborn, straight lashes. I’ve been in all those situations and I promise you that these mascaras will not let you down.

Many people are scared to wear waterproof mascara because of the removal process. Don’t worry, I’ve got your back on that too (right after I talk about my favourites). Although my lashes are not that short or sparse, they are stubbornly straight. When I first started wearing makeup, I used to apply regular mascara and then curl my lashes, which can actually make your lashes stick to the lash curler and pull them out. Thankfully, this never happened to me (but really, don’t try it). After discovering waterproof mascara, I have never turned back. I’ve probably tried close to 30 different waterproof formulas and I’ve got to say that the drugstore does it best. These 3 are by far my all-time favourites! So without further ado, I present to you the top 3 waterproof mascaras I have ever tried.

1. Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Waterproof Mascara

I’m kind of cheating with this first favourite because even though the Maybelline The Colossal Mascara is the one I have on hand right now, I pretty much love all of the Maybelline Waterproof Mascaras that I’ve tried; they nailed their waterproof formula. This mascara is the most waterproof out of my top 3 -I wore it in humid 30°C weather to a waterpark where I spent the entire day and it didn’t smudge or flake at all. As expected, after you dunk your face into the pool numerous times, your lashes will still lose its curl. However, out of all the waterproof mascaras I’ve tried, I always choose this one whenever I’m going to the pool or somewhere humid and tropical. Even out of all the Maybelline mascaras that I’ve tried and loved, I keep going back to this one for some reason and I’ve probably repurchased it more than 10 times. As the name suggests, this mascara is volumizing thanks to the fat bristle brush, but it doesn’t clump and still lengthens and separates the lashes. An overall big winner!

mascara6

I’ve traveled so much with this mascara that the name has completely scratched off

2. Isehan Heroine Make Long and Curl Mascara in Super Waterproof

This mascara is from a Japanese makeup brand, but you can get it online here. I first bought this mascara in Japan randomly and I am so glad I did. The Japanese really know how to make a good mascara! This mascara has a curved bristle wand and the fibres in the actual product really lengthen the lashes and make them look full and fluttery. I also love how a thin coat of this mascara looks super natural, like you just naturally have amazing eyelashes. It’s one of the few mascaras I’ve tried that I can layer throughout the day or on top of other mascaras and it doesn’t clump up or look too spidery. It’s not as waterproof as the name suggests, it does flake and smudge a bit if you go into water; but for a hot, humid day in town, this mascara isn’t going anywhere and you can be sure that your lashes will look great all day.

mascara2

3. Covergirl Super Sizer Waterproof Mascara

I’ve already talked about how amazing this mascara is in my everyday makeup post, but I just had to include it on this list because of how hyped up this mascara is and how many people rave about it. It is definitely worth the hype! Even though the brush itself is made of rubber and looks weird, it is amazing for applying mascara evenly from the roots of your lashes to the top. The fact that the bristles themselves are short means that you can lightly press the wand on your lashline to line your eyes without poking yourself. It also separates and volumizes your lashes while adding length, which is really all you can ask for from a mascara. This last plus (?) may sound weird to some, but this mascara has a plastic-like glossy look of some sort on your lashes, so it gives the effect of plastic false eyelashes without looking fake (if that makes sense).

mascara5

Now that you know my top 3 waterproof mascaras, let’s move on to the removal process. Trust me, these products and methods will get your mascara off quickly without removing your lashes in the process.

Lose the Clumps, Not the Lashes

First, let’s talk about the products. The best waterproof eye makeup remover has hands down got to be the Biotherm Biocils Lash Optimizer. When I first started wearing makeup, my mom gave me a sample of this makeup remover to try and since then, it has remained my number one (especially after some not-so-great makeup removal experiences). Not only does this makeup remover effortlessly break down the mascara on my lashes and swipe it off, it claims to stimulate the natural growth of your lashes. Now I can’t say that it makes your lashes noticeably longer or thicker, but compared to other makeup removers, it is so much gentler and doesn’t make any of your lashes fall out. I say this because from my experience with other makeup removers, no matter how gentle I am, I will still see one or two lashes on my cotton pad after I remove my mascara. However, with this one, my lashes stay intact and look nourished after I use it.

mascara3

How I like to use this makeup remover is to pour some of the liquid onto a cotton ball or cotton pad and press it lightly against my eye until my lashes are fully saturated. I then swipe and pat gently at my lashes and the mascara seems to break down and slide seamlessly off my lashes.

The next product is not marketed as a makeup remover, but I used it for this very purpose after a desperate internet search for makeup remover alternatives on a weekend away from home. As I suffer from cracked, dry skin, I always carry around a travel sized tub of Vaseline. After reading online that it could be used as an eye makeup remover, I was skeptical, but with no other options available, I tried it and it worked wonders. I’ve also read that using petroleum jelly on your lashes can help them grow and that some people swear by it; but since I don’t use it regularly, I haven’t noticed that the handful of times that I have tried it. The only thing that I don’t like about using Vaseline is that since it’s not a liquid, it doesn’t completely saturate your lashes so it takes a bit longer to remove your mascara and also to get all of the vaseline out of your lashes after removal.

mascara4

Since the petroleum jelly has a thick texture, it doesn’t really work when I try to scoop some onto a cotton pad. Instead, I just rub my finger into the pot and gently rub my lashes with my finger to smudge off the mascara. Then, I take a spoolie and comb out my lashes, removing any of the excess jelly and mascara. Lastly, I take a dampened washcloth or cotton pad and pat my eye area until the smudged mascara is all off and the Vaseline has either absorbed into my skin or has been removed.

Hope this post was useful and that you’ll try out these products for your next tropical escapades! Thanks for reading!

image-1xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

